Day 25 – Y: Yammer

I must admit that writing this post proved to be bit of a challenge. First I am travelling, second after writing 24 posts on KM on the trot; I could not find anything to write against Y. Finally I remembered Yammer and immediately got depressed. Let me tell you why.

I know quite a few people who have used Yammer as a collaboration tool and they rave about it! I have seen Yammer in action a few times but it is bit of a coincidence that I have never got a chance to deploy it / use it as a tool as part of knowledge initiatives that I have managed. So until that sometime, somewhere moment happens I have no choice but to show my affection for a tool that I am a huge fan of through this post! And if you have read some of my posts, you would realise that this comes from a Knowledge Professional who was never too enthusiastic about technology as a problem solver for knowledge issues and who would never put it above people in the pecking order.

So what is Yammer? While it has been around for a few years, it grabbed attention when Microsoft acquired it for $1.2 billion. It was touted as the ‘Facebook for Business’ but during my discussions with peers, my research based on documentation and articles on the public domain and limited exposure to the tool made me feel that it is much more.

Yammer’s USP lies in its simplicity. If you are a regular user on Twitter you would probably agree that the # at times makes you go mad. However, in a business environment a judiciously used # results in search posterity. It can actually deal with the syndrome of information overload that most users experience when they search for something specific on the corporate portal.

The other statistics which impresses me hugely pertains to the claim that Yammer generates about 40% less email. Not a mean feat, right? Compatibility with smart phones and the open API feature makes integration with platforms like SAP, SharePoint, Salesforce.com easy.

You may check out this article to know more.

Leave a Reply

